Just living my life, and making it work!

Trying Something New

As I have mentioned in previous posts, I come form a long line of brilliantly creative women on both sides of my family. I love to craft, and am constantly working on a project or two. As you can imagine my low vision limits my abilities. For example, seemingly simple task like threading a sewing machine takes me forever. I also have a hard time seeing the marks on measuring tape/cutting boards. It takes me about two to three times as long to complete a task than the average person. I try not to let this discourage me, and have developed my own methods of doing things.

I know there are great products out there meant to make sewing easier for people who have limited vision, but with a baby in the house I am having a hard time finding the blocks of time I need to sit down and sew anyway. My sewing machine is close to the bedroom so nap time sewing is out. Boo šŸ˜¦ I need something that I can complete in 15 minutes here, 10 minutes there. Just by accident I ran across a felting video on YouTube. it looked like fun, and looked like something I could use to make embellishments on hats, scarfs, and denim. Well this led me down the crafting rabbit hole to knitting my own scarfs and hats to embellish with the felting. I have tried crocheting, but it is very difficult for me to see the stitches, and decide where to properly place the needle each time. Knitting on the other hand looks easier to see as the working stitches are separated on the knitting needle.

I googled ” knitting for low vision”, and discovered something called a loom. It is a round or rectangular piece of plastic or wood that has pegs in it. You knit by wrapping the yarn around the pegs, and pulling loops off in a specific order. This seemed very easy, and a good place to start my knitting adventure. I bought one, and am now well on my way to completing a scarf for my son! I also bought some large knitting needles to practice knitting stitches. I hope to be able to bust out some simple sweaters for the kids this winter. I live in Texas where it doesn’t get to be sweater weather until January or February so I have some time:-)

I was encouraged to learn from a friend that he regularly knits with a woman who is completely blind! I figure If she can I can. I have always had a determined spirit about me. I might have to do things a little different sometimes, but once I set my mind to it there is usually no stopping me. Of course there are things, like crocheting, that I cannot do. I also cannot measure or cut well, so quilting is out. However there are lots of things, like bow making, that I can do. I hope to add looming and knitting to that column soon. If not, than oh well, and on to the next thing. It is totally OK with me to fail, but absolutely not OK to not try.

Here are some things I have made recently…

20120725-140029.jpg

Hair Bow

20120725-140141.jpg

Super Hero Shield

20120725-140258.jpg

Covered Wipe Case

20120725-140351.jpg

More Bows

20120725-140513.jpg

Scarf I’m working on for my son. He chose the blue yarn:-)

Comments on: "Trying Something New" (3)

  1. The scarf looks awesome! I’m so glad you’re giving twitting a try, it’s one of my absolute favorite things to do šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

