Just living my life, and making it work!

Wouldn’t It Be Great If….

This morning I was chatting with a friend about all the technological advances that have come into being since I was a kid. I grew up in the 80s/90s, and there were things I thought about as being awesome, but impossible, that are now reality. I thought it would be fun to list them on my blog. Mostly so my children can read it, or automatically download it to their brains, and laugh someday.

Wouldn’t it be great if you could watch what ever cartoon you wanted whenever you wanted, and you didn’t have to wait until 10:00 for Strawberry Shortcake? Enter DVRs, Netflix, Hulu, and Video on Demand.

Wouldn’t it be great if you could call your friends where ever they were? No more standing at the North entrance of the mall wondering if your friend had a flat, got grounded, or thought you said South side of the mall. Enter cell phones. Most don’t even have a hard line anymore.

Wouldn’t it be great if there was no long distance charges? I moved when I was 17, and my bff and I were relegated to something like 30 minutes on the phone per week, and that cost a fortune. Enter no roaming or long distance cell phone plans.

Wouldn’t it be great if you didn’t have to buy the whole album just for one awesome song? Enter ITunes, and the like. I haven’t bought a CD in I don’t know how long.

Wouldn’t it be great if you could watch movies and TV shows in the car? Enter portable DVD players, and tablets.

Wouldn’t it be great if you could see the person you were talking to on the phone? Enter facetime, Skype, and the like.

Wouldn’t it be great if you could see the picture you were taking, and could order double copies of only the one you wanted instead of the whole role? Enter digital cameras

Wouldn’t it be great if you didn’t have to hunt down a news paper or fiddle with the phone book just to get a movie time or call for dinner reservations? Enter the internet.

Wouldn’t it be great if you could talk to all of your friends at once so you could make plans without calling and recalling everyone 100 times? Enter the group message.

To be sure, this is only the tip of the iceberg of all the incredibly awesome things that have happened since I was a kid. This is just a list of some of the actual things I thought about between the ages of about 7 and 18. My kids have it soooo much easyer, but harder at the same time. They have all these awesome things, but they’ll never sit with their friends listening to a radio program waiting to see if one of their crushes called to dedicate a song to them. They’ll never excitedly run to meet their friend in the hallway to pass the group notebook, and see who was in love with who that week. Plus, with tracking a video devices they’ll have to work a whole lot harder to lie about where they are, or what they are doing……Caller ID was the bane of my existence as a teen.

What did you wish for as a kid that is now a reality?

Leave a Reply

